Australia vs South Africa Meet In Rugby Championships


Australia vs South AfricaAustralia travel to Cape Town to take on South Africa in the Rugby Championship in an important showdown hoping to win their first match at Newlands Stadium in 22 years.  Both team have 10 points and need a victory if they hope to remain within reach of the All Blacks of New Zealand.

The Wallabies have lost six successive times to their opponents, although are in the better form having beaten the Springboks in Perth already in this tournament.

Coach Heyneke Meyer believes victory on Saturday, coupled with success at home to the All Blacks, would put a completely different complexion on their whole year whatever happens with the Championship title.

“We were so close to winning three games on the road which has never happened before,” Meyer told reporters.

The South Africans have made two changes for the match with Francois Hougaard and Teboho Mohoje replacing the injured Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw, whilst the Aussies have Adam Ashley-Cooper, Joe Tomane and Saia Fainga’a coming in.

“To lose Willem and Francoise is to lose two established players, it’s like losing (Richie) McCaw and (Kieran) Read, but we are blessed with loose-forwards in this country,” Meyer said.

Australia have made changes on the wing, bringing in flyer Joe Tomane for a first cap in almost a year.

Adam Ashley-Cooper returns on the other wing while hooker Saia Faingaa starts.

Teams: South Africa: 15-Willie le Roux; 14-Cornal Hendricks, 13-Jan Serfontein, 12-Jean de Villiers (captain), 11-Bryan Habana, 10-Handre Pollard, 9-Francois Hougaard, 8-Duane Vermeulen, 7-Teboho Mohoje, 6-Marcell Coetzee, 5-Victor Matfield, 4-Eben Etzebeth, 3-Jannie du Plessis, 2-Adriaan Strauss, 1-Tendai Mtawarira Replacements: 16-Bismarck du Plessis, 17-Trevor Nyakane, 18-Marcel van der Merwe, 19-Bakkies Botha, 20-Schalk Burger, 21-Cobus Reinach, 22-Pat Lambie, 23-JP Pietersen. Australia: 15-Israel Folau, 14-Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13-Tevita Kuridrani, 12-Matt Toomua, 11-Joe Tomane, 10-Bernard Foley, 9-Nick Phipps, 8-Ben McCalman, 7-Michael Hooper (captain), 6-Scott Fardy, 5-Rob Simmons, 4-Sam Carter, 3-Sekope Kepu, 2-Saia Faingaa, 1-James Slipper Replacements: 16-James Hanson, 17-Benn Robinson, 18-Ben Alexander, 19-James Horwill, 20-Scott Higginbotham, 21-Nic White, 22-Kurtley Beale, 23-Rob Horne. Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

About James Rhodes

James is an American born sports writer that covers all sports and has a passion for football at every level He began his journalism career then and has been published on numerous sports websites and publications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *